Basic music server questions

J

josko

Audioholic
I have some very basic music server questions - I'm very new at this and have been going nuts in the morass of acronyms and capabilities without really finding what I'd like.

I have ~1000 LP's I've slowly been transcribing to .wav's and would like to listen to them on my 2.0 analog system (Levinson 380s preamp, etc.)

The OPPO 83SE has almost what I need: a way to select music files from a USB disk and play them through high-quality DAC's. Only problem is, it does not accept lossless formats. :mad:

So I'm looking for something which will let me select a lossles music file from a disk (via a GUI) and play it through high-quality DAC's compatible with an analog preamp.

Even if OPPO announced they'd support lossless formats in 6 months or so, I'd grab one now and be happy, but they weren't able to even give me any timeframe.

So what could I get instead?

In the 'wish' priority would be an ability to play digital video files, as well, to save me the trouble of inserting disks and a means of 'ripping' video disks to files.

Thanks so much in advance.

sholling

sholling

Audioholic Ninja
What I use is a Western Digital TV Live ($120 at Amazon) however I use digital out to my receiver and use the receiver's DACs to do the conversion. One of the reasons that I chose it is it plays the lossless flac format. I have several hundred CDs that I spent hours ripping and I'm not willing to settle for less. These are about the size of a thick paperback book and include a remote. They have no internal storage but have 2 USB ports for external drives or a wireless USB network adapter plus a 10/100 Ethernet port.

J

josko

Audioholic