B&W CM9's "crappy" - Replacements?

83benz240

Audioholic Intern
I am a definite newbie with all this stuff. I wanted to get a stereo for music and house parties and was recommended the Pioneer SC-57 and then got the nicest speakers Best Buy had to offer - Bowers & Wilkins CM9's.

I've been asking questions in the subwoofer section about what kind of subwoofer to add to my set up. In my research and phone calls to SVS and Mark Seaton I was recommended getting an amp for the CM9's so I don't damage them from pushing them too hard from the SC-57.

I asked on the subwoofer section peoples opinion of the Emotiva XPA-2 driving the CM9's. I got a reply that amping those "crappy" speakers would be a waste of money.

Are CM9's really that "crappy"? If so, I still may have time to return them to Best Buy. If I'm able to return them what else do people recommend for the $3,000 price range for floor standing speakers that will be used for music only - I do not have surround sound and I'm not interested in the sound for movies.

Thank you for any advice.

adwilk

adwilk

Audioholic Ninja
There's nothing "crappy" about that speaker at all. It might not be everybody's preference, but no speaker is.

The real question is if YOU like them. If you don't, take them back. If you do, be happy and proud of them. I think the CM9 is GORGEOUS. I love the looks of them. I'd be super proud to have them in my room. That said, They wouldn't be my first choice of speaker. All depends on what YOU Like. But no, they aren't crappy in the least. Its a nice speaker IMO.

As far as an external amplifier goes- those speakers really would benefit from one. You're on the right track with Emotiva.

As a response to your other question- in that price range I PERSONALLY would get the Klipsch RF7II. No amp necessary.

83benz240

Audioholic Intern