Audio/compatibility confusion :(

P

Porky

Hi guys,

I wonder if someone can help me out as my knowledge of all this audio stuff is starting to go over my head!

A few months back I bought a new computer, which has 5.1 surround sound capability build into its motherboard. I never bothered replacing my old speakers to save a bit of a cash as I wasnt too worried about having the surround thing working. Finally my 2 little PC speakers have died so Im looking at buying some new ones.

Unfortunately being a student I dont have huge amounts of money - so was planning on getting a sort of "PC surround" sort of set up - something like this:

http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/products/index.html?rb=1952224433&action=c2hvd19wcm9kdWN0X3NwZWNpZmljYXRpb25z&product_uid=45857

Unluckily for me, while I was shopping I realised that I *really really* should buy a DVD player while Im at it. My friend has a DVD player made by KISS technologies - it can link into a LAN card on a computer to play DivX files and so on. I really like the look of some of this equipment but I have just "a few" questions that Im kinda worried about.

Firstly, is it possible to set the system up so that both my computer and my DVD player could be plugged into the speakers at once, via some sort of switch, so that I can just "flick it across" if I decide to watch a film or something?

Secondly, Im worried about the compatibility of my motherboard AND the DVD with the speakers. For example, the DVD player will have a digital sound output (almost for sure) but Im not sure what the sound that comes out of my PC is like. There are no optical outlets, just those sorta "headphone" pin sockets in varying colours. Does this mean that finding something that can handle both analogue and digital sound will be a problem?

Thirdly, Is it likely that to sort the problem above I will need to buy some sort of separate amplifier, and then plug this into the speakers (even though I think the speakers come with one as well).