Article on Skeptic Magazine Website

Ares

Ares

Audioholic Samurai
Nice find Randy, I like the fact that he touched on myths of the Audio world.

Halon451

Halon451

Audioholic Samurai
Agreed, this was a fun article to read. Granted it very much echoes the sentiments of most AH members at this point, it's just nice to see a well written article out there covering a list of common snake oil traps that beset an otherwise fine industry. If there's a market for it... the vultures will be out there ready to cash in, bottom line. ;)

Shock

Shock

Audioholic General
"The key to identifying most audio scams is the very high prices charged. As an audio pro, I know that $1,000 can buy a state of the art power amplifier. So it makes no sense to pay, say, $17,000 for an amplifier that is no better and may well be worse."
He couldn't be more right.

O

oppman99

Senior Audioholic
Good read. That should be required reading for many new forum members.

highfigh

highfigh

Seriously, I have no life.
If anyone has seen the room mode calculator I and a few others have linked and referred to, it was provided by Ethan Winer, on his web site.

Hipnotic4

Hipnotic4

Full Audioholic
Cant be mad at those companies selling those pointless products. If people are going to buy them, might as well sell them.

highfigh

highfigh

Cant be mad at those companies selling those pointless products. If people are going to buy them, might as well sell them.
So people should be able to make all kinds of claims that can't be substantiated without any kind of responsibility for lying? That's usually called fraud.

Chatta

Chatta

Junior Audioholic
Few of us have unlimited budgets and must spend what funds we have wisely.
Thats great! Why should spend a lot of bucks in expensive audio stuff, when you can get something better for a good price?

B

Boerd

Full Audioholic