Are 2 watts better than 200?

T

tom67

Full Audioholic
Yeah, and the readers responses (still ongoing) actually more interesting than the contention in the article...

TLS Guy

TLS Guy

Seriously, I have no life.
:D:DTubes RULE!!!:D:D

It is not always about the watts.
Yes it is about the watts.

Nothing defines better the absolute bankruptcy of the loony high end.

To seriously state that a single ended triode amplifier can be offered as an amplifier to be listened to in this day and age just deserves a belly laugh.

Just research the wave forms out of those things. If you think it reasonable to propagate such rubbish, then you have a DSM diagnosis along with the rest of them.

Remember no clipping is batter than any clipping, let alone a boat load of it!

I got away from single ended triodes when I graduated out of the nursery, literally.

jinjuku

jinjuku

This is an example of an amp behaving as an EQ/DSP. If that is your preference (ability to alter the amplified waveform via tube swap) then go for it.

I don't think this amp would meet my needs. I have been known to play Rush YYZ at ear blistering levels. 2 watts isn't going to cut it.

I am curiously considering the Yaqin ML MS-20L. We will see how much my curiosity costs me:D

Last edited:
ski2xblack

ski2xblack

Audioholic Field Marshall
Are 2 watts better than 200? That begs the question, the primary question regarding power amps, more basic than what circuit topology is best, namely do they have the power you need? Sorry, but unless your driving a ridiculously efficient transducer, using a 2 watt amp is like attempting to tow a trailer up a mountain with a yugo. Not a very well though out plan if you ask me. Even with the well above normal efficiency of the Zu speakers the Decware had trouble.

P

PENG

Audioholic Slumlord
Just research the wave forms out of those things. If you think it reasonable to propagate such rubbish, then you have a DSM diagnosis along with the rest of them.