Any benefit to separating sounds?

R

Randy Robinson

Audioholic Intern
Hi everyone,

I have searched for this and came up with nothing, so I am asking the experts.

I am wondering if there would be any benefit from separating out certain sounds from an audio track?

To clarify more, would it sound better to have ONE driver play multiple sounds at once ? or would it sound better to have one driver play the vocals and one driver play the guitar and one driver to play the drums and so on.... I am not sure if this would have any adverse effects on the sound ? I am not an audio engineer or do I know much about the technical side of audio, so I thought someone could chime in.

Thanks

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi
Difficult to say since there are benefits to different designs. One driver is a good choice because you don't need an x-over inline. One driver can't do everything perfectly though, so to me, perhaps a 2-way is ideal. Breaking it down further lets you extend various ranges to drivers best suited to them, but then the x-over can start to become complex and driver interactions start to occur. So to separate those even further into specific sounds would seem to be adding much more complexity for potentially little or no benefit. It may work theoretically, but would the benefits be worth the complexity?

R

Randy Robinson

Audioholic Intern
I know this is sort of hard for everyone else to understand because I am the one who is thinking all of this.
One factor I am thinking of is this : Intermodulation Distortion