Amp and receiver advice for new B&W speakers

J

jmasud

Audiophyte
Hi,

I’m new to hi-end hi fi and joined this forum to get some advice, as selecting the right system can get pretty confusing. I’ve been shopping around and have narrowed down some choices, but am still a bit confused and hope I can benefit from some expert opinion.

I want to essentially replace a standard Sony home theatre setup with a new TV and, more importantly, a better sound system. The Sony, of course, was barely adequate for movies, but it was torture using it for audio recordings, so I’m looking for an entirely different set up now: good speakers, with high-end hi fi and AV components. Will upgrade to a 65” flat panel LED or OLED (willing to wait for this year’s models), but want to go ahead with the rest of the purchases now.

First, a word about my room layout, since it is peculiar (about 24 x 26 ft). I have a long couch facing a floor-to-ceiling bookshelf which houses the TV and stereo components, along with the front and center speakers, which are about 16-17 ft from my normal watching position on the couch. The couch is about 5-6 ft away from the back wall, so there’s room to put rear speakers against the wall, about 13-14 ft apart. However, I only have space for bookshelf front speakers, although can have floor standing ones at the rear. The room also has other seating in front facing the other way, about 18 ft from the rear wall, which I use when listening to music. So I would like to use the floor standing speakers mainly for music (connected to Sonos, an Oppo BD 95 BluRay/CD player and other source inputs), but as rear speakers in a 5.1 ch home theatre environment when watching movies. I can place the sub wherever it works best in this configuration (am advised on a front corner location).