A/V Receiver and Speaker Pairing Question

B

Bulldawg165

Audioholic Intern
Hey everyone! Great place you guys got here! I really enjoy reading the forums and learning more about this audiophile hobby. I'm currently a beginner/newbie with a quick question:

I have a Pioneer VSX 1021-K 7.1 channel A/V receiver. I'm currently using it in 2.1 as I haven't hooked up the center and surround channels yet. I'm looking to upgrade my speakers and have found some used PSB Image T65's for $700 that I think would be perfect for my needs (mostly 2 channel music listening). My only question is if they will work with my amp. The speakers are rated at 6 ohms nominal and 4 ohms minimum, but my receiver is only rated for speakers 6-16 ohms. What's the difference between nominal and minimum and will these speakers ruin my amp?

Thanks in advance everyone!

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi
Generally you fry drivers before you damage the receiver, so it is a concern. 6 Ohms is less of a concern and if you cross them over appropriately to a sub, even less of a concern. Impedance varies depending on the frequency, so nominal refers to the average behavior across the range the speaker can reproduce. 4 minimum means they should not drop below that and not enough for them to be categorized as 4 Ohms nominal. My former 4 Ohm speakers dipped to 2.5 ohms minimum.

B

Bulldawg165

Audioholic Intern
Well, what worries me the most is that when I listen to music I typically set my receiver to pure analog direct which would make the towers run full range, so from your explanation it seems like it's a near certainty that they will drop below 6 ohms for extended periods of time.

Currently I am using two Pioneer FS51 towers, which are rated at 6 ohms nominal with no minimum given, if that helps at all. (Yeah, these PSB's are going to be a HUUUUUUUGE step up for me :) )

Should I be worried at all? I've emailed PSB and am currently waiting to hear back.

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi