T

Trevor Dennis

Audiophyte
I've been running a Yamaha RX-V6A for a couple of years now. When I was researching the purchase I misunderstood the specs, and thought that you could connect speakers to all nine sockets, and that the receiver would automatically switch between them depending on content. So I went to great trouble putting speakers in the ceiling which was one heck of a job as I am in my 70s and overweight. Anyway, it turns out I was wrong and you can only connect to the Presence or Surround sockets. I'm not really getting how this works.

If it comes to it, I'll get another receiver that would drive all nine speakers (plus two subs), but after some time on Google, I'm thinking I could get it wrong again if I am not careful, as the specs seem a bit ambiguous with some of the receivers.

I'd be beyond grateful for an explanation of how the V6A works, and if I could configure it better? I'd also be interested in what receiver I could get that would definitely drive all nine speakers plus the two subs? I am also wondering about using the ceiling (presence) speakers instead of the surround, and how that would sound?

Thanks.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi