3-Way L-Ported Speaker System

GraysonPeddie

GraysonPeddie

Audiophyte
Hi. I'm Grayson Peddie and I'm new to building speakers. I plan to build a 3-way speaker system (with the help of my dad when it comes to working with wood). Let me start off that my budget will be $150 or less per speaker (it'd be great if I can get below $100, but I don't think it's possible, due to the rest of the paragraph that I'm about to mention). My goal is to build two speakers that are >90 dB efficient (SPL) and that I want to get between 25 Hz to 30 Hz for low end and for high end, above 20 kHz. What I could do is use a horn that produces frequency responses up to 30 Hz (40 Hz is low-priority, even if I want to get a feel for ultra-sonic high frequencies above 20Hz). It will be ported, and I'm hoping to tune a box to maybe 25 Hz. The size of the speaker should be no larget than approx. 3 cubic feet, as I plan to use Accousta-Stuf PolyFill dampining material, which comes out to be about 1.5 pounds per speaker, but the volume of the speaker enclosure will go down as I add drivers, a port, crossover, and a speaker terminal. So, the speaker dimensions I am targeting is 13.75" in width and depth, and 27.5" in height (I'm "math-o-holic" :)). The reason for extra inches below the woofer is to allow for a resonance (Fs) to be tuned a bit lower). The first and second braces will be located in height of 4" (first) and 6" (second), respectively. The port will be placed between first and second brace. Speaking of ports, at about 8" from front to back, there will be an "elbow" that will rotate the port downward. From there, the port continues down, until it gets to the bottom of the enclosure, but about 5"-6" away from the inner enclosure, so that the air can reach easily through the port. Of course, since the outer port will be located a few inches above the woofer and that the port is 17" long, I don't think this will be the problem. As for tweeter, I plan to use a horn. I thought it'd be good,