Clueless User + Budget Pioneer Setup

P

puterg33k

Audiophyte
Hey all, thanks for checking out my thread. I'm new to surround sound, and I've currently invested into a Pioneer SP-PK52FS 5.1 setup coupled with Pioneer VSX-522-K.

I never actually intended to purchase surround sound, however, the sales people at Best Buy convinced me when I'd recently purchased my new 60" TV. So, here I am, completely clueless about how to use/setup this thing accept for the instructions provided (might as well be Greek).

In Best Buys defense; they gave me an amazing deal on the receiver, speakers, warranty's, and setup/installation. Not to mention my TV was on sale at the time, it just all made sense, until I got it home and tried to use it. I ended up getting the Pioneer 5.1 and the Pioneer receiver for just over 500 dollars, and that came with a 4 year warranty on everything.

So, let me give you the particulars; my room is 14ft wide x 19ft long x 16.5ft high (vaulted ceilings, no room under the flooring), I have Pergo wood-ish flooring, and virtually no where to hide the speaker wires (wife's already killed me, she will continue to kill me until I hide these wires:confused:). The room isn't completely closed off, it's open on the left side on both front and rear channels/speakers, and I have no idea where or how I'm going to mount the rear bookshelf speakers. I've also purchased the Rocketfish RF-WHTIB-A (wireless speaker thingy) to hook-up the rear speakers and minimize the wire clutter. Though, I fear I might have mistakenly done so, as the Rocketfish thingy is only rated for 30 Watts RMS x 2, and I've read a little about amplifier clipping, though I don't understand most of what I've read. I hope that's not what I'm doing to my speakers, to try to alleviate clipping I've yet to turn my receiver passed 50.