clamping speaker mount. how it effects sound?

K

kikonenko

Audiophyte
Hi, this is my first post heh. I've been reading AH for quite awhile and it helped me a lot.

I'm no audio expert but i'd like to wall-mount my rear bookshelf speakers above ear level for a better delocalization of the surround channels. My speakers aren't threaded, so i thought i might use these (google image: clamping speaker mount). I'm concerned though that this might have some ill-effect(s) on the sound. My reasoning(plz forgive my ignorance):

if you pinch a guitar string with two fingers, and while pinched you pick it, it will sound very very different (and much quieter, almost silent) then picking it normally. That must happen because you couple your body mass to the string, so it can't resonate/vibrate. Something similar woud happen when you fasten the speaker to the mount with a strap or clamp the sides of it like in those clamp mounts, like you don't let the cabinet resonate in its natural frequencies and attenuate a wide frequency range (esp. trebles, which i love) from the sound output because it's coupled to the wall which absorbs them, right? (quoted from wiki "Sometimes considered part of the enclosure, the base may include specially designed "feet" to decouple the speaker from the floor.")

I couldn't find any info and would really appreciate acoustic experts words on this.

A more generic question/worst case possible would be: if i fit a speaker cabinet in a wall cavity and fill it all around with concrete, leaving just the front of the speaker flush with the wall, would this immobilized speaker not sound at all, or sound very different than resting on a footstand?

Thank you very much for your help.

lsiberian

lsiberian

Audioholic Overlord
Hi, this is my first post heh. I've been reading AH for quite awhile and it helped me a lot.