Audioholics, weigh in.

Sheep

Sheep

Audioholic Warlord
No, I don't want to know how fat your are, I want your opinion.

I ride my bike 2 times a week to work if the weather is nice because it's good exercise, and I get to ride down a really steep hill and go faster then cars. Riding is also a hobby of mine. I've been riding my entire life, and fairly seriously for the last 8 years. I've never had any head injuries, nor anything worse then sprained ankle.

On my way to work yesterday, I came upon 2 police officers with bicycles (biker cops). They were pretty much blocking the entire crosswalk and right on my route to work. I proceeded slowly and I was told to stop 15 feet from them and then told to walk up to them. He ask me why I was stopped, and I answered "Because I'm not wearing a helmet?" to which it replied "correct".

He then asked for my drivers license and went on the radio calling for information or something stupid. I though they were just going to check my record (which is clean btw) or were looking for a possible stolen bike. Turns out, I was receiving a ticket. A ticket for not wearing a helmet.

While the fat cop (1 was fat.. must've been his first day) was on the radio, the other explained to me how bikes fall under the motor vehicle act and began listing laws that I had broke.

1.) No helmet.
2.) Riding on the sidewalk (to which I pointed out they were too, and also blocking it).

He then asked where I was going (work) and when I got off (around 7, was 1:15 when I got the ticket). He was going for a riding in the dark without a light violation, but it is still light out when I leave work.