Bose Innovations truth, Myth, & Lies

L

Loxxa

Junior Audioholic
I was curious of the truths & myths of the "direct reflecting" innovations in some of Bose speakers, especially the 901's and general discussion on some users opinions/experiences with Bose.

I personally own a pair of series IV Bose 901's, and I'd like to know more about them and the reasons they are regarded as one of Bose greatest "innovations in sound". I really know little in the realm of facts about Bose.

I was told once that the creator & founder of Bose stole many of his ideas from audio research students during his career as a teacher and that is how Bose became famous. Truth or rumor, I have no idea...

Yamahaluver

Yamahaluver

Audioholic General
I have personally attended lectures of Dr. Amar Gobinda Bose, the man is brilliant, he never stole ideas from his students, rather his students formed a part of his company and still do, his ideas are mathematically plausible, but then as a math professor, I can almost make anything plausible with math, however, sound is not about math, sound is simple principle, design the best driver, design a nice clean sounding amp, and you got good sound, BOSE sadly isn't good sound, using ordinary drivers, BOSE sound soon wears on you after the initial euphoria, I should know, Professor Bose is from India, since I am Indian and having attended his lectures I too bought into the Bose concept and my first speakers were 901-Series IV, from the day I bought them, mated to my excellent Marantz receiver, they sounded bad, my suspect was the tacky EQ which was necessary with the BOSE 901s, I found the bass fake, heavy bass passages would overwhelm the speakers easily, the top end sounded woody, although the mids were ok and the imaging WOW wore off after the initial amazement, they began to sound fake, in short, romance was over, the speakers got traded in for JBL Studio Monitors in matter of months, my love for sound came back.

highfihoney

highfihoney