BMXTRIX

BMXTRIX

Audioholic Warlord
Anyone have any experience using or listening to WiSA speakers?

As an installer, I must admit that I don't typically recommend wireless solutions, but there is an upcoming project I'm looking to bid which has a pretty ideal scenario to avoid running wires around the room. Install a WiSA enabled projector, install a few WiSA speakers, put in a retractable screen, call it done. It saves the client a fair bit of money for wiring and repairing drywall and it gives them much better than projector-integrated audio.

But, I have no familiarity with WiSA audio quality, problems, headaches, and where it shines. It looks like there is a fair number of manufacturers supporting this as a standard and that they have a wide range of models from the moderately priced to the overpriced. I'm not seeing much in the way of 'inexpensive' from the ones I've looked at.

Would love some feedback from those who have experienced these speakers first hand.

I'm really not interested in speaker bars, but can see how that would be super relevant to a very large crowd.

WaynePflughaupt

WaynePflughaupt

Audioholic Samurai
I'm not seeing much in the way of 'inexpensive' from the ones I've looked at.
According to an article Gene put out here on Audioholics some time back, WiSA operates on 24 tunable frequencies in the 5.2–5.8 GHz range. These channels were originally reserved for weather and military uses, and consumer devices are only allowed to use these critical channels as long as there is no interference. A WiSA-certified system constantly monitors for interference and instantly jumps to a new channel if any is detected, and does so seamlessly with no audible dropouts.

As you can see, the requirements of the platform do not lend itself to “inexpensive.” Especially when you consider that the speakers are required to have both amplifiers and wireless receivers on board.