Wireless Adapter Question

SopRage

SopRage

Audioholic
Hey guys,

I'm looking at toying with the placement of a second subwoofer in my room and have read about two wireless adapters that can be used with subs, the Aperion "Home Audio Link" and the Audioengine AW-1.

Does anyone have any experience using either of these with subs? Do they work well? Does the extension on the devices suffice for movie LFE? Is a wired connection clearly/audibily superior?

Thanks for any help!

sholling

sholling

Audioholic Ninja
I tried the audioengine and never could get it to work.

M

markw

Audioholic Overlord
I'm not an engineer but I really can't understand why ther aren't more of these, particularly for subwoofers.

I would assume (and yes, i do know the four implied wods within) that, not using internal power amps, two router sized units, one transmitter and one receiver, perhaps with wall-warts would be all that's needed. Heck, maybe make them stereo units so they could be used or surround speakers as well.

Oh, make them able to accept and output line-level analog audio signals

I think there's a market out there waiting to be tapped.

If they already exist, please enlighten me/us.

WaynePflughaupt

WaynePflughaupt

Audioholic Samurai
The issue, I suspect, is cost. A wireless system that’s quiet, clean and (especially) interference-free isn’t cheap. You need look no further than the wireless mics used in pro audio systems. You can’t get anything decent for less than a few hundred dollars.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Last edited by a moderator:
Warpdrv

Warpdrv

Audioholic Ninja
Very true Wayne.... If you want quality then its price you will pay, but one also has to offset the idea of what it will cost to install wires in places that aren't easy to send them. I would imaging that would level the playing field from a cost standpoint...

WaynePflughaupt

WaynePflughaupt

Audioholic Samurai