Will the Pioneer Elite SC-79 Receiver with HDBaseT work with my 4 OHM Martin Logan Speaker

H

HT4ME

Audioholic Intern
Hello,

I am looking at the Pioneer Elite SC-79 Receiver with HDBaseT as a solution for my new home theater system; however, and remember I am a newbie, will it work with my "4 OHM" Martin Logan speakers? Below is my gear:

LF & RF - Martin Logan Ethos
Center: Martin Logan Stage X
Surrounds: Martin Logan Vanquish
Rears: Martin Logan Vanquish
Subs (2): SVS PB13 - Ultra

Aside from my compatibility question, is this a receiver you would recommend for my setup?

Thanks to all who answer!

Matthew

M

mister wiggles

Audioholic Intern
First off, sick gear!

The SC-79 would work, but if you plan on listening to your system at higher volumes, I would save some coin and get an AVR to use purely as a the processor and get separate amps to drive the speakers.

BoredSysAdmin

BoredSysAdmin

Audioholic Slumlord
Ethos is a great speakers - they measured great and I head ML's older electrostats and they sounded beautifully. There is a catch thou - due to their design they have rather narrow sweet spot.
As for compatibility with Pioneer elite avr - as far I as remember all Elite series avrs have beefier amp and should support Nominal 4 ohms speakers, but like previous poster said - it also depends on how loud you intend to play these...

Also if you look at impedance graph on link below - at the higher freq they do look like dip below 4 ohm
Martin Logan Ethos

Another point is Audyssey XT and Audyssey Dynamic are commonly regarded are superior technologies than MCACC.
Imo you should Instead checkout deal for mid range Denons

H

HT4ME

Audioholic Intern
What about this combination:

1. Emotiva XMC-1 (soon to be released)
2. Emotiva XPR - 5

Thanks,

Matthew

slipperybidness

slipperybidness

Audioholic Warlord