Why do i prefer my cheaper can? I'm baffled.

G

GChesters

Audiophyte
Hi guys.

I'm just starting out in this endless strive for great sounding music.

After having bought a dac amp and a pair of HD 598 SR's I decided to buy a second pair of cans to try and start to identify different sounds and qualities. I opted for a pair of AKG K92's. This is all I can afford at the moment.

I've listened with both to an array of music genres and prefer the cheaper AKG's. Everything seems more detailed with better bass with them.

Can anyone explain why i'm really enjoying them AKG's as opposed to the Sennheisers? And, would it help if i upgraded my 598 pads to solve the bass issue? Also just a basic rundown on how I should be listening to music with regard to bass high and trebles?

Many thanks in anticipation.

mazersteven

mazersteven

Audioholic Warlord
Can anyone explain why i'm really enjoying them AKG's as opposed to the Sennheisers?

And, would it help if i upgraded my 598 pads to solve the bass issue?

Also just a basic rundown on how I should be listening to music with regard to bass high and trebles?
Can anyone explain why you're really enjoying the akg's over the sennheiser's - I can't. It's your preference it's your personal preference everybody has a different one

I've never heard of upgrading ear pads to solve a base issue I've never heard of that maybe I'm wrong.

As far as how you're supposed to be listening to music again that's a personal preference I personally like my headphones and speakers to be as neutral as possible without any coloration so I can hear exactly what the sound Engineers intended me to hear how they wanted me to hear it

Next time you want a great set of cans I recommend the Sony MDR-7506

G

GChesters

Audiophyte
Thanks for your prompt reply. I suppose i'm getting a bit baffled with all the technical talk of great mids and highs, rolling bass etc. I don't know where to start really.

mazersteven

mazersteven

Audioholic Warlord