Why built in HD tuner???

J

JCX

Audiophyte
i dont get why a built in HD tuner is needed. in a year or two, all set top boxes will also act as HD tuners, and if you need one of these to access program guides, VOD, etc, then the built in tuner is usless.
cable card compatible TVs are one-way right now, so when those two-way cards are out today's cable card TVs will not be compatible with 2-way cards.
what will i miss if i buy an HD ready TV now w/o the built in tuner - the few over-the-air programs currently available, and a little less clutter?
i'm sure you can tell i'm pretty new to this, but this is what i understand so far. what is the big advantage to built in tuner that i'm missing??? thnx.

rgriffin25

rgriffin25

Hope this Helps

If you buy the TV with the built in tuner your HD programing could be free. That is if you live in an area where you can get HD over the air. THe only other thing you would need would be an UHF antenna. You can usually save a little cash getting the TV with the tuner. (At work, we have 2- 32" Zenith HDTVs, one with a tuner and the other w/o. You only have to pay $100 more for the one with the HD tuner. We sell the Set-top tuners for $300. So in this case you would save $200.) At this point it really does you no good with cable or satellite HD. You will have to buy or rent their hardware even if you have it built in.

BMXTRIX

BMXTRIX

Audioholic Warlord
You pretty much have it figured out already. It is almost a gimmick - but, to a lot of people, all they want is regular cable plus HD programming plus DVD. So, they don't want a digital cable box or all the expenses associated with it.

So, the OTA (over the air) HD tuner built into the set allows them to get their HD channels for free, then they just use their regular cable box, or cable ready feature of the plasma for tuning. Add a DVD player and a lot of people are 100% satisfied. They can watch the game in HD on Monday night, then watch a movie with the kids on Saturday night.