T

tony25

Audiophyte
Well, this is the Beginners forum and I am a beginner looking for some advice. I have decide to take the plunge and invest in some nice audio equipment. I need some help to understand which direction I need to take in my search for componenets.

My budget is about 3K. I listen to music much more than I watch tv or movies, so to start, I want to satisfy my desire for hi fidelity. However, at some point, in the not so distant future, I would like to expand whatever I invest in, to use for movies (that means adding a center channel and rear speakers in a year or so). I was thinking to invest (about $1500) in a pair of good quality floor standing speakers (B&W DM604, PSB Image T65, Ohm Walsh 100 MK-2). The rest of my budget would go towards a CD/DVD player and amplification.

A source of confusion for me is whether I should use the rest of my budget on a home theater receiver (Arcam 200, NAD 753, Yamaha 1500, Denon 2805) or go for an inegrated amp? What are the trade offs?

jaxvon

jaxvon

Audioholic Ninja
Well, with your desired path, I think a high-quality HT reciever would be teh best bet. Most of these reicevers have a "Pure Direct" mode for 2-channel listening that gives you a straight-up analog signal path with no filtering or conversion from A-D and D-A. Some recievers will even shut down all unnecessary components when running in this mode. What's even better, is that when the time comes to step up to HT, you already have the reciever to do it, no hassles.

If you were just doing a pure 2CH system that would never be part of an HT system, then yeah, I would go for an integrated amp.

As a word of advice, don't forgot to budget for some room treatments. The acoustics of your room are at least half of what you hear, if not more. If your room has garbage acoustics, then all the expensive gear in the world won't make it sound awesome.

And lastly, don't get sucked into the expensive cable lies! It's just a waste of money.

nibhaz

nibhaz