what do you think of this idea?

B

BARRACUDA1968

Junior Audioholic
I am just getting into the HT thing. Here is what I have for equipment.

Sunfire Grand Theatre III
Monster Power 2000
Monter power 7000 conditioner
Using 2 Proton D1200 dual mono amps
Proton DVD 5.1
I currently run 4 speakers and a sub

I hooked everything up and put in a DVD and set it to 5.1. I couldnt hear any voices so I eventually figured out it's because I don't have a center channel. I switched my DVD back to a 2 channel output and I was fine.

Heres my question, I won a Bose 10 speaker system that I have never used. I'm thinking of using one of the dual cubes as a center. I have an amp etc to make this work. Is there any type of crossover built into my Sunfire to keep the lows away from the center channel? I know the Bose cubes are small so am I asking for trouble not using them with the bose sub and crossover they are designed to work with?

sdy284

sdy284

Audioholic
BARRACUDA1968 said:
I am just getting into the HT thing. Here is what I have for equipment.

Sunfire Grand Theatre III
Monster Power 2000
Monter power 7000 conditioner
Using 2 Proton D1200 dual mono amps
Proton DVD 5.1
I currently run 4 speakers and a sub

I hooked everything up and put in a DVD and set it to 5.1. I couldnt hear any voices so I eventually figured out it's because I don't have a center channel. I switched my DVD back to a 2 channel output and I was fine.

Heres my question, I won a Bose 10 speaker system that I have never used. I'm thinking of using one of the dual cubes as a center. I have an amp etc to make this work. Is there any type of crossover built into my Sunfire to keep the lows away from the center channel? I know the Bose cubes are small so am I asking for trouble not using them with the bose sub and crossover they are designed to work with?