What do you think about this Athena Speaker Setup?

N

NetGeek

Junior Audioholic
Hello everyone! Newbie here upgrading my entire HT and 9 year old Pro-Logic only system. Just replaced the 32” SD with a Sony KDP-57 WS655 HDTV and replaced my aged Onkyo Pro-Logic with a Pioneer VSX-1014 TX-K due to advice on these pages. I am very happy with the 1014 but my speakers do it no justice; it’s time to get rid of those damn Bose speakers! I have been using two 301 Series IV, a VCS-10 center channel & two very crappy 161 used for surrounds.

This is the 7.2 setup I am considering and would appreciate any comments or suggested changes to this configuration.

I will be using it for 60% HT and 40% music. My room is 20ft X 22ft with 17 ft. vaulted ceilings, about 7,500 sq. feet total. The kitchen & dining room are also connected to this room and there are no doors (yet) to close these areas off yet.

This is what I came up on a $1,000 budget:

Front Main Speakers – two Athena AS F-2 ($500 - $600 pair)

Surrounds: Four Athena point 5 MKII S.5

Center Channel: Athena C.5 Center Channel (complete point 5 bundle - $300)

Subwoofer: Velodyne VX-10 ($169 at Vanns)

Does anyone know how the new Point 5 MK II system with S.5 speakers and C.5 center channel stacks up against the older AS B-1 or AS B-2 speakers? Would the B series be a better choice for Surrounds or Center Channel? I have not been able to price the B series speakers yet but I believe they are in the same price range as the Point 5 MKII’s S and C series.

Also I have read that the F-2’s are a little weak on bass; will the VX-10 be sufficient or should I go up? I might add that I listen to music at a low to moderate level, getting to old to listen at 120db plus these days!

Thanks in advance, advice from this site is much appreciated!

M

markw

Audioholic Overlord
The F2's weak on bass? Where did you hear this one?

If anything, they are heavy on the bass.