well here goes nothing

M

marcoman22

Audiophyte
this would be an attempt at connecting 18 speakers, one television, one ipod, and one cable box.

i am not new to a/v but i dont know it all. my experience in working with a/v is having the av guy explain bits and pieces to me on the fly while he is doing the installation of corporate conference room systems. i get the jist of building a rack but would need specific guidance on certain things. what that will be i dont know yet it will be pretty much whats not working at the moment during the build or what i cant figure out from threads and internet research

i am new to this forum and would appreciate any help with any of this even a phone call may be easier to explain certain things. i work in IT so i can pretty much get it if explained just need some basic guidance.

so let me start by explaining what is existing in the build.

the house is wired with 18 speakers. more in some rooms than others.

**What kind of amplifier would i need and how many?
**I am going to guess i need more then one amp, how would those daisy chain or connect together.( i was looking at rotel amps)
**how would the cable box connect to the amplifier so most importantly we can watch football in all of its surround sound glory :)

thanks for any tips here i know its a lot to respond to but it will be much appreciated for a very beginner a/v guy.

:D

ImcLoud

ImcLoud

Audioholic Ninja
OK, well we will definitely need more info..
First where are the 18 speakers exactly? Pics would be the most help, but a room count would do to, for example, 2 in the kitchen, 2 in the dining room, 2 in the bedroom, 5 in the living room, ect...
Next is what does the wiring look like? 2 wires from each speaker to a volume control, wires just ran all to one location, ect... where do they go and come from and how many are there...