Wattage problems with M22ti's...

Y

yousef

Audiophyte
<font color='#000000'>I'm really new to all of this. &nbsp;I am buying the M22ti's from Axiom and am confused about the wattage. &nbsp;The specs on axiom's site say that they can handle 200 watts. &nbsp;I've been reading faq's saying that if my receiver's power doesn't match by speaker's then the speaker might become damaged. &nbsp;So I guess the question is do I need to buy a sophisticated amp/pre-amp combo or expensive receiver, or can I buy a &quot;generic&quot; receiver. &nbsp;I want to buy the Denon DRA-685. &nbsp;Would this receiver damage the speakers in any way? &nbsp;I know very little and the guides on this site are too technical for me. &nbsp;Some advice as to what receiver I should buy ($400 limit) would be GREATLY appreciated.</font>

<font color='#000080'>My understanding has always been that damage only comes from OVERdriving an underpowered amplifier to a speaker. This causes distorted audio (clipped signals resulting in extended incursions and excursions) to be played through the speakers which could damage them over time.

According to Axiom's specs, the M22ti's can function off a minimum of 10 Watts up to a maximum of 200 Watts.

If you do not end up blaring distorted audio through the M122ti's at full volume, you should not damage them at all. I will leave it up to others to recommend a receiver in your price range.

In any case, you certainly do not need to purchase a 200 watt/channel receiver for the M22ti's to function correctly.</font>

gene

gene

Audioholics Master Chief
Administrator
<font color='#000000'>Yousef;

<table border="0" align="center" width="95%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tr><td>Quote </td></tr><tr><td id="QUOTE">
I've been reading faq's saying that if my receiver's power doesn't match by speaker's then the speaker might become damaged.
</td></tr></table>