Wanted: Comments & Suggestions on this My First Speaker Project

bluesarebest

bluesarebest

Audiophyte
Wanted: Comments & Suggestions on this My First Speaker Project

My objective here is to build a pair of home theater speakers to flank my 36” flat screen. To drive my new speakers, I currently have a JVC Audio/Video Receiver RX-8030VBK (6 X 130W per channel) The amp has several digital optical inputs that can be
hooked up to the soundcard of my home computer which manages a very large collection of MP3 files.

My box size calculations came from quick study of some web sites and forums. Since math is not a strong point with me, please
take a look at my “guess work” and holler, NO YOU IDIOT! If you care to take the time to give advice to me, please keep in mind that unlike most of you, I have limited knowledge when it comes to Thiele-Small data and it’s affect on drivers and their output performance. Some of you are sure to say I’m building the boxes a bit large, but I did this for future upgrades to 10” woofers (don’t want to build new cabinets). You also need to know some info about room size and listening preferences.

Folks at my house never listen to REALLY LOUD music. We enjoy 4 to 5 DVD movies each week, and music plays during times the TV is not being watched. Our “Theater” room measures 26 X 12 with the TV screen backed up to the middle of one of the long walls, the floor is finished wood on a pier & beam foundation.

I’ve listed the products I’ve picked out to suite my meager budget and these are all I can afford at this time. I know there is better quality stuff out there, but I still have to put two more brats through college soon. I’m always asking my wife, “who wanted all these d$#n kids anyway”?

Budget $300 each speaker.

2 - GOLDWOOD GW-8PC-30-8 8" HEAVY DUTY WOOFER 8 OHM $40 ea.
SPECS: 120 watts RMS/230 watts max, Voice coil diameter: 1-1/2", Le: .99 mH, Freq. response: 45-7,000 Hz, Re: 7.24 ohms,