Vintage pre amps and new amps?

C

chetnutz

Audiophyte
OK, first post. Here goes.
I'm a newbie here and what I want to know is the best way to increase the power going to my speakers yet retain a vintage sound.

To wit: I am running a turntable setup (JVC YQL-3 and QL-7) into a Marantz 2270 that is feeding stacked EPI M250s (four speakers -- that's 16 drivers in all). I suspect I need more power for the EPI's. They sound pretty great now but I wonder what about 100 watts-plus per speaker would do for them. But I don't want to blow them out either as they aren't fused.

So, do I need to try to stay all-vintage and upgrade to a Marantz 2325, 2385, or 250 amp etc? to maintain the sound or would it be easier (and just as sonically pleasing) to go with a new amp like an Emotiva XPA-5 and use the 2270 as the pre amp?

Suggestions anyone?

thanks much!

Irvrobinson

Irvrobinson

Audioholic Spartan
The 2270 is pretty weak as a power amp. It especially isn't very good into 4 ohm loads. I'd recommend a newer power amp that has far greater capabilities.

As using the 2270 as a pre-amp, you can always buy a new amp and try it out, but don't be surprised if after all these years the 2270 has gotten noisy. Electronics, especially older discrete components like capacitors, age.

I had a 2270 when I was in college, and frankly I think electronics have come a long, long way since then. I would think the pre-amp section of even a new $300 receiver would likely out-perform it. If the new receiver doesn't have a phono input, you could always try one of these:

Rolls phono pre-amp

Or any of these:

Phono pre-amps

Or better yet, you could hunt around on Audiogon for a good used Adcom pre-amp that has a built-in phono stage. There were zillions of Adcoms made over the years, and many go for only a few hundred dollars.

Adam

Adam

Audioholic Jedi
Welcome to the forum!