Viewing a widescreen DVD on my Panasonic HDTV Plasma

T

The ORB

Audiophyte
Hello, first post on these forums and I am pretty new to HT.

I have a question I have just purchased an HT setup, Panny TH42PX50 HDTV plasma, Yamaha RXV1500 receiver, Yamaha S550 DVD player and Axiom speakers (pair M22ti bookshelfs, pair QS4 surrounds, CP150 center and an EP175 Sub). and whilst setting it up decided to watch the Gladiator Widescreen edition DVD. The problem is that the movie plays with the black bars above and below the picture. I tried changing the aspect ratio on the TV, but couldn't fill the screen. I also tried to find an suitable options in the DVD player menus but couldn't. I, perhaps incorrectly, assumed that a widescreen DVD would correctly fill a widescreen TV. Is this just a wrong assumption on my part or this there an adjustment to the DVD player or TV that I can make to correct this?
Any help or advice for this bumbling HT newbie would be much appreciated. :confused: :)

Cheers, Oliver.

Spiffyfast

Spiffyfast

Audioholic General
There are different widescreen version other than 16:9 that your TV probably is. Alot of epic type movies are wider, star wars, lord of the rings, etc

Spiffyfast

Spiffyfast

Audioholic General
you can probably zoom in your tv, but then youll be cutting off the sides which negates the whole point og having a widescreen tv

Duffinator

Duffinator

Audioholic Field Marshall
Your TV is a 1.78:1 aspect ratio. Many action movies are filmed in 2.35:1 and you will see the black bars while many animated, comedy, and dramas are filmed in 1.85:1 and with overscan they fill the screen entirely. There are several other aspect ratios but these are the two most common. Your TV is 1.78:1 because the HDTV spec is 1.78:1 so all true HDTV content will fill your screen. Like previously mentioned you might be able to stretch your image to fill your screen buy why bother. View the movie the way the director intended it and enjoy your new TV.

BMXTRIX