Ugh ...so confusing - help!!

• Thread starter BinkytheDoormat
  • Start date
B

BinkytheDoormat

Audiophyte
I found this site after sifting through reviews of equipment and amazon review for receivers and music streaming devices.

I recently had to scrap my Pioneer receiver from back in the mid-80's after it died. i think my speakers/subwoofer are ok (Klipsch KSB 3.1s), but won't really know until I get it hooked up to another receiver (I guess ...). I don't need a fancy set up, but would like something nice and especially something easy-to-use. I am not technically oriented and hate having to mess with stuff.

The big challenge is mostly wanting to stream Spotify songlists through my stereo. I would love to do some other stuff - but need to keep it simple to keep my stress level down. Here is my equipment:

Sharp Aquos 80" (new ...so wifi, HDMI, etc) - has Netflix built in, but can't get it connect to our lan
Klipsch KSB 3.1 speakers and subwoofer
Old Technics 5 CD carousel changer
Direct TV whole-home set up
Xbox and Kinect

Shopping for a receiver and blu-ray player - and whatever I need to stream wirelessly through my laptop.

I would love to hook all of this stuff up through the receiver but I am fine dumbing it down to my level.

What should I buy for a good balance of ease-of-connection/use and quality in a receiver and music streaming? It would be great to streaming videos from my laptop as well ...but realize I may jumping way ahead of the simple approach I am after.

TIA - any help would be appreciated, really stuck here.

ImcLoud

ImcLoud

Audioholic Ninja
whats your budget?

accessories4less has marantz ud8004 blue ray and sr7005 for under $1850 shipped...
Or denon 1912 $329 and 1611 blu ray for $299

B

BinkytheDoormat

Audiophyte