Turntable preamp help

W

wtrimble

Junior Audioholic
Hello all, I'm new to the turntable/vinyl world and I need some help. Currently I have a Musichall MMF2.2 than I'm now starting to get into and hook up. My amplifier is a Parasound A21. I am in need of a phono preamp. My issue is, all of the phono preamps I see, do not have volume control. As the Parasound doesn't have volume control, I'm lead to believe both preamp and amp would then just run full open. I recently got a Cambridge Duo (by mistake and need to return) and I tested it out while I have it. I saw that it had volume control so my setup would be complete, but when I hooked it up, I realized the volume knob is just for the headphone output.

I don't want to get a new amplifier as I just recently got this one. What are my options for preamps that have volume control out there for my turntable? A preamp with a remote is even better. I'm looking to~$500.

Matthew J Poes

Matthew J Poes

Audioholic Chief
Staff member
Hello all, I'm new to the turntable/vinyl world and I need some help. Currently I have a Musichall MMF2.2 than I'm now starting to get into and hook up. My amplifier is a Parasound A21. I am in need of a phono preamp. My issue is, all of the phono preamps I see, do not have volume control. As the Parasound doesn't have volume control, I'm lead to believe both preamp and amp would then just run full open. I recently got a Cambridge Duo (by mistake and need to return) and I tested it out while I have it. I saw that it had volume control so my setup would be complete, but when I hooked it up, I realized the volume knob is just for the headphone output.

I don't want to get a new amplifier as I just recently got this one. What are my options for preamps that have volume control out there for my turntable? A preamp with a remote is even better. I'm looking to~$500.
For your needs i would look at preamps with built in phono stages.

https://emotiva.com/collections/pre-amps/products/pt-100