H

hifilodo

Audiophyte
I tried this topic under a different thread, but committed the cardinal sin of mentioning cost. No replies. Disregarding cost, what are the options available in today's home theater technology to allow me to not have to flip through a couple hundred CD's every time I want to listen to one? What electronic storage media options are available that will maintain the integrity of the original recordings while allowing me to select my listening choice from an on-screen menu?

Rob Babcock

Rob Babcock

What you want is an "audio server," which is a hot topic right now. My idea would be a PC based solution, probably a RAID sytem with several big HDs. You could probably even set up 2 scuzzi & 2 SATA drives on a regular Intel board. The interface is the tricky part.

There was a discussion over at Audiocircle.com concerning this awhile back. I know there are better resources for PC based rigs, but I'm not an expert.

BTW, what you propose is something I've been researching in my spare time for about a year, and I'd like to implement just such a system.

H

hifilodo

Audiophyte
Rob,
Thanks for the reply. It sounds like the audio server market is just beginning to develop. It seems like the next logical step. We now have MP3 players that can store and playback thousands of songs. Why not a WAV player? I don't think I am ready to buy a separate computer with a large hard drive to try to configure to interface with my stereo just yet. Are there any systems that have been developed for mobile DJ's that use the WAV format? It only makes sense that professionals with huge collections of music would need such a device.

rgriffin25

rgriffin25

I use my computer, Apple's iTunes, and an external 160GB USB 2.0 Hard drive. This configuration works great for me. I also use a ATI RF remote to change songs from anywhere in my HT room.