Thoughts on the Axiom EP600 subwoofer?

S

stasik80

Enthusiast
Hello. As a disclaimer, I'm very new to audio and video equipment. I have the opportunity to buy a used Axiom EP-600 subwoofer for $300. I believe it's the v2. This would be paired with a PSB 5 speaker HT setup in an open space with about 4000cft. This would be used primarily for movies. How would this compare to something like a SVS PB-2000? Is this a reasonable price?

Thanks, Stan

Last edited:
S

stasik80

Enthusiast
Thanks. Yes, it's a beast. But given the price I think it might be a reasonably cheap way to get some base for my large space.
I read those reviews. Was hoping to hear from someone that has first hand experience with these.

Pogre

Pogre

Audioholic Slumlord
Thanks. Yes, it's a beast. But given the price I think it might be a reasonably cheap way to get some base for my large space.
I read those reviews. Was hoping to hear from someone that has first hand experience with these.
How big is your space? I'm pushing 6000^3 and have a pair of HSU VTF-3 MK5s (price in link is for 2) They're not specced to 10 hz, but I'm flat to 15 hz and they do it with authority. Having 2 vs 1 sub helps a lot with that as far as keeping that response even throughout the room.

S

stasik80

Enthusiast
I have a large space with vaulted ceilings and a kitchen open on the side. I'm guessing around 4.5k cft. Also, one large wall is brick and all the floors are hardwood. Does that change anything?

Pogre

Pogre

Audioholic Slumlord
I have a large space with vaulted ceilings and a kitchen open on the side. I'm guessing around 4.5k cft. Also, one large wall is brick and all the floors are hardwood. Does that change anything?
That's a good sized area and I think you'd benefit from having a pair of subs. The Axiom looks like an awesome sub, but you can get two VTF-3s for ~the same price with their nicer rosenut finish or a little less for the black finish. Price no object a pair of Axioms would be pretty sweet.

Pogre