A

alexmoreira

Audiophyte
Hi Folks, I am new to the audiophile world and have a VERY basic question. I am buying my first receiver and am torn between a Denon 1609 and the Yamaha 463. The former has a power rating of 75W per channel with 0.08 % THD; the latter seems more powerful at 105W per channel, but with THD at 0.9%.

The speaker set up will be: a pair of Polk Monitor 50 tower speakers and a pair of legacy bookshelf speakers for a start.

Between the two receivers, which is a better choice for a beginner? I heard that in other to power tower speakers you needed at least 90W per channel, reason why I am currently testing the Yamaha (even though the Denon seems to be a more sophisticated option).

Any advice would be much appreciated. Thank you.

TLS Guy

TLS Guy

Seriously, I have no life.
Hi Folks, I am new to the audiophile world and have a VERY basic question. I am buying my first receiver and am torn between a Denon 1609 and the Yamaha 463. The former has a power rating of 75W per channel with 0.08 % THD; the latter seems more powerful at 105W per channel, but with THD at 0.9%.

The speaker set up will be: a pair of Polk Monitor 50 tower speakers and a pair of legacy bookshelf speakers for a start.

Between the two receivers, which is a better choice for a beginner? I heard that in other to power tower speakers you needed at least 90W per channel, reason why I am currently testing the Yamaha (even though the Denon seems to be a more sophisticated option).

Any advice would be much appreciated. Thank you.
I think you mean power output in watts not amperage. Now you have to consider power output at the same THD to compare amps. Also the THD will vary with load, so the amps have to have the same THD under identical conditions of load. A reasonable level of THD to compare amps is a THD of 0.1%.

You have basically asked a question that is continuously asked on these forums, probably more often than any other. So I'm keeping my response handy.

no. 5

no. 5