THD in tubes and SS amps

JoeE SP9

JoeE SP9

Senior Audioholic
Very interesting. Gives me more ammo when people ask why are you still using tubes. They always comment on how good the sound is before they notice the tubes. When they notice the tubes the comments range from "I didn't know they still made them" to "aren't those things obsolete". I don't know why glass bottles always get such a knee jerk reaction. I have bookmarked the site. I will be sending the address to several of my friends. FWIW I use tubes to drive my ES panels and a tube pre-amp. You can guess the pre-amp. :cool:

Rip Van Woofer

Rip Van Woofer

Audioholic General
Just on quick reading it seems like a load of nonsense; it ultimately comes down to "what sounds better" to some 'philes in general and this author in particular.

I am not a scientist or engineer so I cannot and will not offer a detailed technical critique of the article. However:

This guy and other 'philes seem to be bent on discovering and isolating an "x factor" beyond detection by standard (and supposedly insufficient) measurements that accounts for the allegedly superior performance of their pet topologies, and for the sonic refinements they claim to hear. Remember, these sonic differences tend to disappear in ABX (double-blind) tests of all but the more "eccentric" circuit topologies like single-ended triode tube amps. The "AES types" and engineers/mainstream scientists in general are often held in contempt by these folks. To me, it sounds a lot like the perpetual motion machine types who castigate "conventional" scientists for their "blindness".