A

Actran

Audioholic
I recently started playing with my sub's dials and started turning the gain up. However, past about 50% the sub will start rattling during bass heavy scenes. It's not the cracking typical of overdriven speakers, but sounds like something is shaking. Any ideas? The sub is an EMP1010i and is about 3 month old.

Is this just the price of paying $350 for a sub?

ImcLoud

ImcLoud

Audioholic Ninja
Subs shake stuff, but usually not themselves... that is a ported sub so it probably has not blown itself open, if you knock on it does it sound solid, also try shaking the sub around see if something is loose in there, maybe they gave you some extra screws, I have had that happen... Try chanign positions move it to the center of the room... if all else fails, and you really don't listen to it that loud anyway {since its 3 months old by the time you found this out}and you don't think its mechanically related to the sub, just don't turn it up that much... Kind of like when I went to the doctors and told him "my neck hurts when I turn it like this', he said "don't turn it like that" and sent me on my way with a 15$ copay and a green lollypop....

Adam

Adam

Audioholic Jedi
Back in 1998, I paid $700 for a B&W sub. It rattled. The dealer told me that they all do that - and while I knew he was lying, I was dumb enough not to ask B&W for two years. After I contacted them directly, they quickly told me that they had a bad production run and that it was a known defect.

My point? Long-winded :D, but...contact EMP. It shouldn't rattle.

Bryceo

Bryceo

Banned
Is it on a riser? I noticed Myn rattled on the riser,
and that was a loose heat sink plate, also is the driver tight?
port tight make sure everything is tight

M

MidnightSensi2

Audioholic Chief
+1 for contact them.