Subwoofer Questions

A. Vivaldi

A. Vivaldi

Audioholic
<font color='#000000'>Due to the small size of my room, I've decided to go with the bookshelf/subwoofer system, and I have three questions. Who makes a good sub designed for listening to music? All the subs I've ever heard as demos seem to sound boomy and muffled to me. I'm looking for something with deep, tight bass. Also, how do you hook up your powered sub to your amp and make it so the subs volume works equally with the main amps volume? Which inputs/outputs do you hook the sub up to? I've never owned a sub before, so I have no experience in the subject. I have a NAD C-320 BEE integrated amp and PSB Image 2B speakers. Any help would be greatly appreciated.</font>

Rip Van Woofer

Rip Van Woofer

Audioholic General
<font color='#000000'>If you're demoing at Circuit City and such, the subs sound like crap because 1) they're poorly set up, and 2) many are indeed crap.

To maximize your chance of good musicality and to minimize the hassle, go with an integrated sub/bookshelf system from the same manufacturer. Good brands like PSB, Axiom, Paradigm, and that Japanese outfit that also makes motorcycles are worth investigating for a start. And they'll come with instructions!

Heck, since you already have PSBs (assuming you like them) why not just get a PSB sub? They make four models. Check their Website.

Sucessfully integrating an aftermarket sub, even excellent ones like Velodynes, Carvers, and Hsus takes some futzing and knowledge.

Don't know your particular amp so I can't speak to hookup. If it has preamp only output jacks in additon to the speaker hookups then you're probably OK.