Starting from Polk LSi25, to setup 5.1 system

H

hdyemxb33g

Audiophyte
Hello all,

I got a pair of floor standing speakers - Polk Audio LSi25 speakers - handed down to me. Now, I am planning to setup a home theater (5.1). As a noob, I'd like to get guidance from the community.

Do these LSi25 speakers *need* a separate amplifier, as in preamp + amp? Can I just use a decent modern receiver (like the ones at Costco)? I'd prefer to have as few equipment as possible, without degrading the experience too much.

How do I go from a stereo setup to a 5.1? Due to budget, I'll have to buy the stuff over a few months. For example, what should be the configuration if add a 3rd speaker (front left, center, front right)?

Cheers.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
A modern receiver from Costco should do fine up to a point, depends on your desired spl (sound pressure levels) and distance you are from the speakers (try this http://myhometheater.homestead.com/splcalculator.html to approximate). The modern avrs from Costco will accommodate 2ch or multich use in any case. Ideally a third LSi25 for center, but practically with use of tvs or non-acoustically transparent screens that's not much of an option, altho a center from Polk intended to be used with those speakers would be generally a place to start, and a sub (and I'd suggest not a Polk model) for the ".1" part.....

mazersteven

mazersteven

Audioholic Warlord
The LSi25's needs a 4ohm stable receiver to handle their load.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
The LSi25's needs a 4ohm stable receiver to handle their load.
Which would still depend largely on listening levels and distance from the speakers....many avrs can handle the 4 ohm load these speakers have, particularly with subs to cover one of its more significant low impedance dips, tho up to what levels would be in question.

H

hdyemxb33g

Audiophyte
Thanks @lovinthehd, @mazersteven .