Speakers + subwoofer connections

S

sokukodo

Audiophyte
<font color='#000000'>Hi guys, a newbie here ... I'm in the process of ordering a new computer and I'm going with a 2.1 set-up. This is what I'm getting:
Apple Dual processor 1.42 Ghz Powermac, 2 Ghz of RAM, a 20&quot; LCD Apple Cinema display, an M-audio Revolution 7.1 PCI sound card, Radeon 9700 Pro Video card ... my question has to do with speaker set-up/connection: a set of Dynaudio BM6A studio monitors (self-powered 200W, 100W to each driver) ans a Hsu VTF-3 subwoofer (self-powered, 250 W); are the monitors wired together, THEN connected to the sound card, or run separately to the sound card, or connected together and run through the subwoofer? As is probably obvious, I'm confused.</font>

<font color='#008080'>[ducks potential flame] This year I moved my entire operation from Mac to PC, got a faster computer and was able to re-purchase all of my software for WinXP. All for LESS than it cost for the Mac upgrade... just food for thought. Email me if you want to know more (from a Mac user of over 11 years.)

As to your question... Take the analogue line output from the card to your subwoofer line ins. Use the sub's crossover and take the LINE LEVEL outputs from the sub to your powered monitors.

Do not use any of the &quot;speaker level&quot; inputs or outputs.</font>

G

<font color='#000000'>I'm going to take a slightly different approach.

I'd recommend getting a Dolby Digital/DTS HT processor and running a digital connection with a Toslink optical cable from the M-Audio soundcard to the processor.  This optical connection will isolate the excessive RF in the PC from getting into the sound system and your speakers will thank you.

By the way, I'm very interested in hearing your perspectives on the Dynaudio BM6A active powered monitors.