Speakers or Amplifier on limited budget

B

bfrisch

I am new to true audiophilia and I need some advice on how to spend my money.

I have $2500 to spend and I currently own the following (older) recievers:
Yamaha RX-595 (stereo only)
Pioneer VSX D608 (5.1)

I HAVE to get new speakers, my old ones stink.

I am trying to decide whether to put all of my money into speakers (Paradigm Signature S-3, they have to be bookshelfs due to room size) or to split my money and get something like the Paradigm Reference 20 v.3s and upgrade my power supply.

Currently, the main thing that I am looking for is stereo sound.

What is the consensus on purchasing in this situation? Go whole-hog on speakers or split the cash?

When I was at the store, the higher-end deck made the Paradigm Reference 20 v.3s sound much more accurate, but I cannot tell if they sounded better than the S-3s will sound on my existing system.

Any ideas?

Beegowl

Beegowl

Junior Audioholic
Pragmatism

It is my experience that no matter how much dough I blow on part of my audio setup, I always end up spending more down the road. If you have a finite amount of money, spend more on one component, live with it until you have enough for another piece, etc. Electronics seem to become less expensive as the technology advances, so, buy the best speakers you can scrape up the dough for, enjoy them for a couple of years on your current equipment, then buy new electronics. You'll get more electronic pizzazz for less and will have enjoyed better sound from good speakers in the meantime.

L

Leprkon

Audioholic General
wise old owl