Source Selectors (or devices like them)

J

JJScottUA

Audiophyte
<font color='#000000'>Hi, I am new to this website and this is my first time posting. I'm sorry that I have not participated in the discussion before bothering you all with my question. I couldn't seem to find a better place to turn than here though. Here's my situation:

Although I am only 21, I have been into home audio and video since early high school. After years of collecting more stuff, my current system is getting to be quite complicated. In fact, my roommates and I have so many different input devices (xbox, ps2, n64, snes, nes, cable, vhs, cd, dvd, etc.) we feel that we need to have two video output devices. We already have a TV, but we are seeking to add a computer system with large size monitor as well. We would like to be able to control the input and output of audio/video so that we can choose which signal displays on a specified device. This is easy enough with most AV selectors on the market.

The catch is that we would like to have the output devices operate simultaneously and independently from each other. I mean, if we wanted to watch the basketball game while playing ps2, we could do so. Or perhaps we want to listen to our massive collection of mp3s on surround sound while playing xbox on the big screen... I'm sure you get the idea. I have researched this topic for many hours and have been somewhat unsuccessful in understanding the technical jargon and sheer volume of devices in this area.

First, can someone tell me what device it is that I am looking for? I have not found a source selector that allows this multiple independent input output feature that we are looking for. And I do not know anything about mixers, &nbsp;distributors, or routers, anything for the technically professional. I'm a mechanical engineer, not an AV expert.

Second, how much is this gonna cost us? If I have to buy professional equipment, I know that's gonna drive up the price by quite a bit.