SONY STR-DE475 BASEMENT RADIO

C

chuckhorton

Audiophyte
Hello!

I am brand new here and hoping someone can help me out. Just recently I graduated from a lousy all-in-one Crosley to a sound-system broken into a few components. I don't have a lot of money, so I did the best I could.

At the moment I have some simple Dayton Audio floor speakers (T652) and an Audio Technica turntable (AT-LP60). A generous friend gave me his old receiver, which is a Sony STR-DE475.

It all works great! I'm listening to old vinyl again and love it - but I want to hear radio. The problem is that I live in a basement apartment in Somerville, MA - not far from Boston.

Not sure if anyone is familiar with this model or how to deal with radio reception living close to a big city. I just received a loop antenna in the mail (just AM: www(dot)ebay(dot)com/itm/311455287655) and I can get some reception but there's a terrible buzzing sound throughout, so listening to the radio is not pleasant.

My question here is - do I just need better antennae and I'll be fine, or is the problem living in a basement, or do I need a better receiver? Hopefully it's just a better antenna I need, because the latter two don't seem so feasible!

Thanks a million,
Charlie

TLS Guy

TLS Guy

Seriously, I have no life.
Hello!

I am brand new here and hoping someone can help me out. Just recently I graduated from a lousy all-in-one Crosley to a sound-system broken into a few components. I don't have a lot of money, so I did the best I could.

At the moment I have some simple Dayton Audio floor speakers (T652) and an Audio Technica turntable (AT-LP60). A generous friend gave me his old receiver, which is a Sony STR-DE475.

It all works great! I'm listening to old vinyl again and love it - but I want to hear radio. The problem is that I live in a basement apartment in Somerville, MA - not far from Boston.