Software Piracy is wrong! Please quit stealing from me.

lsiberian

lsiberian

Audioholic Overlord
I receive a PM from a member informing me of a place that has certain software for free to download. I understand many people are ignorant as to how difficult it is to make good software and how many hours we spend making it. My life depends on people buying the products my company sells. If people start stealing those products they are taking away from my survival.

I beg you if you own pirated software destroy it, delete it toss it. I don't care what it is. It's never right to steal something. There are often free alternatives that are good enough if you can't afford the software.

I could forward such contacts to the FBI as it is highly illegal to steal software, but I always believe in giving people a chance to do the right thing. Just because something is easy to steal doesn't make it right.

Djizasse

Djizasse

Senior Audioholic
I'm a software developer. People have no idea what's involved in a software application and all the work that was put into it. It's so easy to get any piece of software, people take it for granted.

WmAx

WmAx

Audioholic Samurai
For the sake of accuracy, the proper term is copyright infringement.

-Chris

sonicman

sonicman

Junior Audioholic
Agree, and taking the concept a step further, this applies to all copyrighted 'intellectural material', including music, films, etc. :cool:

M

MatthewB.

Audioholic General
Only thing I have stolen is your womens heart. :cool: ;)

I kid, I kid.

lsiberian

lsiberian

Audioholic Overlord
Congratulations!

[I'm assuming that she said, "yes." :)]

Well I did take her to a fancy resturaunt and a musical so i had the momentum going with me. :D In August I will be married. It's crazy. I can hardly believe it.

Thanks.

This summer I got her season tickets. Should be fun.

jinjuku

jinjuku