so, ..what exactly what is a deciBel?

sabianq

sabianq

Audiophyte
so, ..exactly what is a deciBel?

hey all, im new to these parts.

i was just looking and saw a couple of threads inquiring about decibels,

a little history about me.

i currently work for the government as an audio/video engineer, i have been in the field for 15 years, and have come across many different, strange and cool set ups.

i have done work for IBM, AOL, Intel, the President of the United States and many other high profile entities.

my home system includes
Ashly parametric EQ's
Mackie 16 X 8
Raine active crossovers
QSC and ashly amps
various speakers Genelec, Tannoy, Optimus (yes i know, radio shack), Bose Meridan and Paradigm.

Shure and AKG microphones

I have been recording for just under 4 years
i am currently working on my studio
http://www.audioforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=13097

i frequent a forum called

Audioforums.com

the reason i wanted to post here and describe the decibel was it seemed to me that some of you were struggling on the meaning of decibel

I hope this helps.

one common misconception is that 0 dB means no noise level,
I had the opprotunity to go to a demonstration where a company was showing off a compact new line array system called the Cobra System, (a very impressive system, capable of super clear and crisp distortion free 127 dB spl at well over 1 meter) that system rocked.

Either way, the "engineer" after the demonstration proceeded to tell the room that 0 decibels ment "as quiet as it can get and that there are no places on earth where there is 0 decibels" i promptly raised my hand and voiced my dissent but was shrugged off. I will not name the company for ethical reasons. however, that incident prompted me to start this thread.

Decibels are always expressed in ratios and is always a relative quanity, so a decibel is a ratio compared to a reference.
here is an example:

lets look at lengths, what if all lengths or distances were compared to a meter.