Skin Effect: effects are negligible

3db

3db

Audioholic Slumlord
<font color='#000000'>As an electrical engineer, I have studied tramsmission line theory and I noticed the author didn't include distributive capacitance which is effected by  high frequency. The capacitance can be modelled as being connected in parallel to the ideal conductor so that as the frequency goes up, the impedance of the capacitor drops causing the voltage across the ideal conductors to drop.   Another hole I see in his description is the general terms of low and high frequency.
Skin effect becomes noticeable  with frequencies above 10 Mhz. Skin effect has no bearing at all in the audio world as the wavelengths in this frequency range are much to long to excite both the distributed capacitance and lumped inductances.

Bottom line is this, if you buy an audio cable that costs $$$$$ becasue it says on the package that skin effect is almost non existanct, than you are getting scammed.

Links to articles relating to this discussion:

Cable Face Off

Calculating Cable Inductance

[since 3dB began this discussion, I added the links to these articles to his original post, and to the front page under the daily dose. &nbsp;Many thanks to 3dB for begining this discussion that I should have opened prior to posting the article &nbsp;
]</font>

Last edited by a moderator:
G

<font color='#000000'>&quot;&quot;as the frequency goes up, the impedance of the capacitor drops&quot;&quot;

Yes..but the transmission line model includes both cap and inductance, so is accurate over a wide range of frequencies..

&quot;&quot;Skin effect becomes noticeable &nbsp;with frequencies above 10 Mhz&quot;&quot;

The power companies have to worry about skin effect at 60 Hz. &nbsp;They tend to limit the maximum conductor size to less than two inch wall thickness, as anything further than that from the surface adds weight while carrying little current..