Shelf speaker upgrade

S

Slimzy

Audiophyte
Hello All

I'm new to the forum. Hope you are well. I'm no expert so please forgive any ignorance shown.

Is anyone able to advise me on which shelf speakers would be a good upgrade.

I have been using Q acoustic 2020i for the last 6 years or so. Although I like the clarity of them, I find they lack mid range base and I think they are not powerful enough for the volume level I would like (start to fart).

I am running them on a Sony dn1080 AV receiver if that's important.

Many thanks for any input

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi
Specs show +/-3dB at 64Hz which often means -6dB at that level, which seems consistent with their size. 6 Ohm and 88dB sensitive. Not bad, but not output beasts I'd guess, and with not a lot of extension, they will possibly "fart" as you said lol. You could set them to small and remove some of the bass going to them to prevent that, but it won't really give them more output. I'd look for something larger and higher sensitivity basically.

What's the approx budget?

S

Slimzy

Audiophyte
Thank you for your reply. Ah ok so in non technical terms... I would need bigger drivers to be able to produce bigger mids. I already set them to small speakers and crossover at about 70 or 80 hz to the sub.

I don't really want to go bigger as it might look weird on the desk its currently on. Would really prefer to find (if possible) to find something similar size (at least on the exterior).

Budget.. no idea.. could get something noticably better for under £500?

TLS Guy

TLS Guy

Seriously, I have no life.
Hello All

I'm new to the forum. Hope you are well. I'm no expert so please forgive any ignorance shown.

Is anyone able to advise me on which shelf speakers would be a good upgrade.

I have been using Q acoustic 2020i for the last 6 years or so. Although I like the clarity of them, I find they lack mid range base and I think they are not powerful enough for the volume level I would like (start to fart).