F

footman

Junior Audioholic
<font color='#000000'>Over the past three months I have purchased 11 high resolution discs. &nbsp; All new artists from different music genres. &nbsp; Each offering something different with highly acceptable audio. &nbsp; I have been doing audio for over 30 years, sacd and dvd-a has breathed &nbsp;new life into my interest. &nbsp; My buying of cd's and lp's will not stop but I will always browse first &nbsp;at the new formats.</font>

I

im timmy

Audioholic Intern
<font color='#A8A8A8'>Hello, I have recently purchased my first dvd-a/sacd player and am a novice listener to these 2 newer formats. I am looking forward to buying some new dvd-a's. Some titles include EAGLES, LED ZEP, THE BLUE MAN GROUP DISC etc. I am wondering if anyone can explain some of the differences between the 2 formats and what I can expect. Does 1 format have any audio quality difference than the other? I keep seeing comparisons between dvd-a and sacd, but don't quite understand if 1 is superior to the other. Just lookin for some opinions, thanks
</font>

Last edited by a moderator:
R

RX-V2400

Audioholic
<font color='#000000'>As we already have 5.1,6.6 DTS why do we need a nother format for music without the video. If THX make movie sound "so good" how come SACD is better?</font>

Rob Babcock

Rob Babcock

<font color='#8D38C9'>DTS & Dolby Digital sound okay for what they are- extremely compressed formats.  They are to SACD & DVD-A as MP3 is to LPs or CDs.  The whole raison d'ete for DTS is to cram sound onto a disc that needs most of the bitrate for video.  While not 'high end', DD & DTS work well and sound great for what they are.

SACD & DVD sound so much better because they devote many times more space to the audio signal.  On a DVD movie you may have only 10% of the disc reserved for the sound.  On an SACD virtually all the room is for the music.