RXV 2400 Presense Speaker Output

M

Mclectra

Audiophyte
:confused: Just purchased the above and trying for many hours to hear the difference when a couple of surrounds are hooked up, but not much at all. Had to put my ear close to the speaker to even find out that it is on. It does
not go on but a few modes. Perhaps it is too new that Yamaha still need to work on it? At present, I feel that Presense is only a new word. Please advise if anyone has better experience. Thank you.

I am New in the game.

Mudcat

Mudcat

Senior Audioholic
I had a similar problem with my RX-V1400. Originally they would only play the rear surround channels. I eventually solved the problem by going throught the complete set-up procedure a couple of times and ensuring the zone two was turned off. Normally they will play what comes out of the fronts, but there are some movies that actually have channel or whatever for them. LOTR ROTK has some effects through them, mostly in the main battle scene at Minas Tirth (spelling?). That is the only time I ever heard something different than the fronts. A whistling sound as a boulder comes flying toward a large orc.

In the set up procedure make sure you have the volume set to the same as the fronts too.

M

Mclectra

Audiophyte
Rxv 2400 Presense

Thanks for the info. Just learned more about the RXV 2400, which is misleading the 2400 has only 7 amps, therefore it can only support the presense spkrs. or the rear spkrs. and not both at the same time, that explain why the presense is not on in most
of the different modes. I am still trying to find out how to keep the values that I programmed manually. It seem to change every time I go back to check it specially the distances.

All the Best,

MClectra

G

GeorgeM

Audioholic
"I am still trying to find out how to keep the values that I programmed manually. It seem to change every time I go back to check it specially the distances"