RX-V2400 Video Upconversion? HELP!

J

JasonInFTLaud

Audiophyte
Ok, let's start off by saying I'm new to this :D . I bought my RX-V2400 after upgrading from a Sony 7.1 unit that didn't have a powered 2nd zone, which I needed. Plus the promise of video upconversion from S-Video/Composite to Component along with the component OSD, I was sold :) .

Now, almost a year later, and I still cannot figure out what I am doing wrong (if anything) because the upconversion isn't working.

Here's my setup:

Dish Receiver hooked up via Component Video (DTV inputs)
DVD hooked up via Component Video (to DVD inputs)
VCR hooked up via composite video (to VCR video in)
CD changer OSD hooked up via composite video (to CD-R video in)
Multimedia Reader hooked up via S-Video (to VCR/AUX S-video inputs).

My Samsung DLP is taking the component output from the receiver into it's 480i/480p set of component inputs (Tweeter says the output from the upconverted component on the RXV is 480i, though I haven't been able to confirm). I also have the composite video monitor from the RXV connected to the Samsung on it's composite video input.

I am expecting (correct me if I'm wrong here :confused: ) that I should never have to switch my TV off of it's component video settings to view the VCR, or view the CD OSD of the multi-media reader, but I do. Otherwise I get that familiar "No Signal" from the Sammy DLP.

HELP!

And yes, I have to get the Dish received connected straight to the TV via it's DVI since I had to switch to the 480i/480p inputs on the Sammy. I would like to still get HD from the Dish.

Duffinator

Duffinator

Audioholic Field Marshall