K

kiwiaudionut

Audioholic
I am a new member and this is my first post. I'm looking forward to discussing Home theater with all you guys. I hope you don't mind if I lay a little groundwork here.
I'm about to convert a room in my basement to a home theater and have been reading all I can find on the subject of acoustics and room dimensions.
I am not a novice where equipment is concerned, and I do have an understanding of a lot of things, just not all I need !
I already own most of the equipment I'll need to create a 7.1 system, all taken from my previous home. In that home, the living room shared many duties and everything was a compromise as I'm sure everyone is familiar with.
I'll be doing all the work myself, but although I can swing a hammer with the best of them, I want to do this right.

This is the first time I've had a room I can dedicate to Home theater, and I'm looking forward to spending this winter constructing it.
I know a lot of discussion has probably taken place on the intricacies of room design, so if there are threads I should see, please direct me.

The room I'll be using is in a poured concrete basement. It is 20'8" long, 12' wide and 7'10" high. The room is finished with drywall and carpet. One long wall and the back wall are concrete with 1/2" drywall attached. The other two walls are standard frame and drywall. The ceiling is 5/8" drywall, with 2x12 joists above.

My concerns involve retaining the noise within this room as there is a bedroom above, so I need to sound insulate the ceiling and walls. I'm not beyond rebuilding, even though the room is finished.
Another concern is that the room sound "right", preferably without spending a fortune on acoustic enhancements and room correction electronics.

This post is getting too long so although I could pose questions and thoughts all night, I'll stop now.

I look forward to reading anyones ideas.

Kiwi.

K

kiwiaudionut

Audioholic
Wow

Man, that "irritate guy" is over the top.