J

jameson333

Audiophyte
Hey!

I jumped the gun and bought Energy 5.1 Take Classic home theater set from Amazon (mostly because of the reviews and the price) before doing any research. After the fact, I did some research to get a better understanding of its specs and what it can provide. I think these will still do fine for me considering I'm just getting into all of this and didn't want to spend a ton to begin with. Now I'm trying to decide on a receiver.

After a few hours of researching and reading reviews, I'm torn between a few.

Denon AVR-S710W
Denon AVR-X1200
Denon AVR-X2100

I would like to allow some room for growth in power and/or number of speakers. I could make good use of having a second zone if I get the X2100. If I get either of the newer ones I would eventually get speakers to make use of the Dolby Atmos capability.

I am looking for some suggestions or food for thought in deciding between these 3 (or other considerations in the same price range-ish). I'm planning on buying from accessories4less to save some money. Here is my current brain dump based on my limited knowledge:

- X2100 is older but (a little) higher end compared to the X1200 and provides some room to grow with regards to power
- X1200 is newer, supports Dolby Atmos which I will eventually use, Audyssey Silver (vs Bronze in the S710), but has less power than the X2100
- S710 is about $70 cheaper than the X1200, Audyssey Bronze

Does the difference between Audyssey Bronze vs Silver result in a noticeably better experience and is it worth the $70? Should I opt for more power from the X2100 and forego the opportunity for Atmos in the future? I would just go for the X2200 but I really don't want to dish out $500 for a receiver.