Receiver Block and emitters

P

poweragent

Enthusiast
I had my home entertainment system professionally wired and all components are rack-mounted and located in an AV Closet. I control the equipment with an IR Target stuck on the frame of my flat panel TV which transmits the IR Signal back to the AV closet via a Balun - CAT6 - Balun to an EPISODE IR 1X4 emitter receiver box. Then I added another piece of equipment but I needed an extra emitter but the block only had 4 emitter outputs. So my question is this: I have an unused Episode IR 1X4 block; is it possible to daisy-chain it with the existing Episode IR 1X4 block?

BMXTRIX

BMXTRIX

Audioholic Warlord
I've never done this before, but I would think that you could take the signal and ground and jumper them from one block to the other to get additional outputs if you need to.

If that doesn't work...
Another option is to take two IR emitters and put them on a single output port. They actually sell IR emitters with two and even three heads on a single cable.

highfigh

highfigh

Seriously, I have no life.
You can use a mono 3.5mm splitter- you aren't trying to connect so many additional emitters that it will become a problem for the IR system. In fact, Vanco sells a one in/four out splitter for this application.

P

poweragent

Enthusiast
I've never done this before, but I would think that you could take the signal and ground and jumper them from one block to the other to get additional outputs if you need to.

If that doesn't work...
Another option is to take two IR emitters and put them on a single output port. They actually sell IR emitters with two and even three heads on a single cable.